Belgrade Serbia History

Belgrade is the largest city in Serbia and the capital of Serbia, and the home of over seven thousand years of history. The white city has taken on many forms over the years, from the ancient city of Belgrade to the present capital of Serbia and its current location.

The Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes was founded in 1918 and renamed Yugoslavia in 1929. From 1918 to 1941 Belgrade was the capital of the Kingdom, from 1941 to 1929 the capital of Serbia, and from 1929 to the end of Yugoslavia.

The part of Serbia, Kosovo and Vojvodina, often referred to as Serbia itself, is divided into 29 districts of the city of Belgrade. The name "Yugoslavia" used to refer to the whole of Yugoslavia, but today it only includes Serbia and Montenegro. Zemun, a city separated from Belgrade, will not make us forget: it is on the same side of the Sava as New Belgrade, though again different.

After millennia of turmoil, Attila the Hun and Slobodan Milosevic lost the war - and devastated the Balkans. The scars of the conflict are still fresh, but the people are warm and friendly and they like to have a good time.

If you want more history and rain clouds are brewing over Belgrade, you can explore Serbia's recent history. If you end your day in the Serbian capital with a whistle, you can be sure that you will come back to Bel-Grade for more after 24 hours.

Serbian rule came in 1284, Stephen Lazarevic made Belgrade the capital of Serbia in 1402, and despot Stefan Lazarevic moved it from 1405 to 1427. The museum has created a museum in the historical center of the city, with a special focus on the history of the country.

The Serbian capital was moved to Smederevo, but Stefan's successor Durad Brankovic returned Belgrade to the Hungarians. In 1918 Kosovo formally became a province of Serbia and began its independence from the Ottoman Empire in the form of the Republic of Kosovo. After the war, it became part of Yugoslavia, renamed itself the Kingdom of Yugoslavia in 1929 and continued under the rule of Communist leader Josip Broz Tito, who in 1945 founded the Federal People's Republic (Yugoslavia), which included Kosovo, Albania, Montenegro, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Serbia and Croatia. The new "Yugoslav state," consisting only of Serbia (and the smaller state of Montenegro), was established.

Two days later, Serbia declared itself the successor of the State Union of Serbia-Montenegro. When the war ended in 1918, the United Kingdom of Yugoslavia, with the exception of Kosovo, was formed from the united kingdoms of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia and Serbia.

Belgrade then became the capital of the United Kingdom of Yugoslavia, the second largest city in the world. Large buildings have been erected in Belgrade, but also in other cities such as Sarajevo, Krasnodar, Novi Pazar, Zagreb and Krakow.

When Belgrade became the capital of Serbia again in 1867, control of the citadel was transferred to the Serbs. After the First World War in 1929, Serbia was part of the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes in Yugoslavia. During the war and after the renaming of the Kingdom of Yugoslavia (1929), Bel-Grade became a city of 1.5 million inhabitants, the second largest city in the world. Novi Belgrade (New Belgrade) was established after the Second World War as a military base for the Serbian Army and the Yugoslav Air Force.

Serbs, Croats and Slovenes united as one state, and Belgrade became the capital of the Kingdom of Serbia, the second largest city in the world after Vienna.

Belgrade imposed Cyrillic on the Croats and denied Macedonians the right to education in their own language, claiming that they were in fact Serbs, and expelled 45,000 Albanians from Kosovo and replaced them with 60,000 Serb settlers. After the First World War, Serbia became part of the great Yugoslavia, which was larger than Belgrade until Yugoslavia joined the Axis Pact. That changed in 1989, when the dissolution of Yugoslavia brought war to the area and brought Kosovo directly under the Serbian government in Bel-Grade. In Kosovo, Serbian rule was restored, and Slobodan Milosevic was elected Chairman of the Communist Party of Serbia. The Serbs resented Kosovo's autonomy, which allowed it to act against their interests.

Under the rule of Serbian despotics and Stefan Lazarevic, the Hungarians allowed the construction of Belgrade. When the city was handed over to King Dragutin under the Hungarian crown, it became part of Serbian rule, and the rivalry between Serbs and Hungarians ended with the emergence of the Turks.

The Serbian Empire expanded to include Serbia, Montenegro and Albania, reaching as far south as Greece. When Serbia regained Macedonia from Turkish rule, the Balkan nation's borders shifted again.

Belgrade became a key city when Serbia gained full independence in 1878 and became the Kingdom of Serbia in 1882, but remained largely agricultural and poor, and remained an obstacle to Austrian expansionism in the Balkans. Although Serbia was an independent kingdom for much of this period, Belgrade's development was halted by the First World War and the two powers fought for the city itself. From 1945 until the end of the war, it was the capital of Yugoslavia, and Serbia was the last man standing until 2006.

More About Belgrade

More About Belgrade